As with many New England towns, education was seen as being very important for both men and women. The town started out with 12 districts each having its own school house serving grades 1-8 in a “one room” setting. Later the schools were consolidated.

For grades 9-12 the Limington Academy was created in 1851. The Academy building still stands as a testament to that commitment. Below are pages from the 1861 Decennial Catalogue.

Limington Academy First Decennial Catalogue 1851 – 1861

Leave a Reply